July10 – MacKerricher State Park

Standard

Molly and Zoe are at a Ranger program about Snowy Plovers. Phil and Annie are back at the RV. As I sit alone on the cliff, silently listening to the waves and children’s screams, I am reminded of another time when I sat alone by an ocean. 

  
In the spring of 1991, I trekked alone around the coast of Australia, starting in Sydney and ending up in Darwin. I spent a few days on Kangaroo Island, south of Adelaide.  The island was inhabited by wallabies and seals, among other things. One night, I hiked at dusk to an area where the wallabies were to be found. (Mob, Troupe, or Court)

I crouched on the ground for what felt like hours as dozens of wallabies hopped past. They came close, and since it was dark, I could just see shapes. It was a very peaceful memory. 

Today:

   
    
 
And here are the Junior Rangers:

   
 

Leave a Reply

