Crock Pot Biscuits and Vegetable Gravy.

Standard

I have had a really bad sore throat for two days, but I felt a little better this morning. I was craving pot pie, but I really didn’t feel like cooking it.  So, I had a brilliant idea:  crock pot.  Surely that would work, right?

I found several recipes that involved sautéing the veggies or cooking the biscuits separately, but that seemed like too much work for me today.  I did find one recipe that had mixed reviews about whether or not it would work.  (mainly, the potatoes would take too long to cook)

1003864_10202541208956168_902844186_n

I decided to risk it.  And, here is my result:

I started with leftover stove-top soup – broth based mainly potatoes and mushrooms with some pasta, celery, carrot, onions and garlic.  Without this soup base, use 1-2 cups broth or bouillon.  **note: I have a 7 quart Crock Pot

Ingredients, chop as needed:
1 russet potato, peeled
1 onion
2 stalks celery
Handful of baby carrots
Some cauliflower
Head of broccoli
Package of mushrooms, some chopped, some sliced
1 can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
2 cans of cream of mushroom soup
1/2 can of water, mixed with 1Tbsp olive oil, 1/4 cup of flour, 1 Tbsp nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, Braggs sauce

Stir in crock pot and cook for at least 3 hours on high – check potatoes occasionally

Make slightly wet biscuits (any method will do) (I used 2 cups of Pamela’s gluten free, following the biscuit recipe using shortening and extra milk – added some salt and Braggs because they tasted bland)
Drop biscuit batter on top of the veg mixture – they will sink like dumplings
Sprinkle spices of choice on top: salt, pepper, oregano, basil, sage

Cook another hour on high
Although I was convinced until the end that this was a failure, the biscuits rise up and cook fluffy!

Inspiration:  http://vegweb.com/recipes/vegetable-crock-pot-pot-pie

Leave a Reply

